The Best Mother’s Day Gift

This past Sunday was Mother’s Day, and my little Sweetsie unknowingly gave me the best gift she possibly could have.  As we were leaving our favorite Mexican Restaurant where we had enjoyed an especially tasty lunch, she snapped a photo of me from behind.  Later, as I was scrolling through the photos on my phone, and smiling at the other shots I’d taken over the weekend, this one popped up.

Pictures don't lie.

“GOOD GRIEF!  Is that what I look like!?” my mind screamed, possibly out loud.  And that was the final straw.  Yes, there I am, lumbering away with my Mother’s Day carnation.  In my mind’s eye, I was definitely NOT lumbering.

So now I’m losing it.  Literally and figuratively.  Although maybe, I’d already lost it, because it seems I was delusional for a time, and somehow ignored tens of pounds that were stretching out all of my clothes.  Pictures don’t lie, folks, but my mirror does.  Something kept telling me I didn’t look so bad, but the person in that photo is unrecognizable to me.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I am not a completely superficial person.  In the grand scheme of things, I am aware that looks are not on the List of Important Things.  At the same time, I’m not going to pretend I don’t care to look fit and pretty.

So that’s my inspiration.  And I’m not just inspired to lose this weight.  I’m inspired to change my life in all sorts of ways.  How else have I been deluding myself?  How far off is my image of what I am,  or want to be, from what I actually am?  I’m almost afraid to find out.

So, thank you, Sweetsie, for starting the revolution.

SONY DSC

Leave a Reply

